www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV support forum
It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:27 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 7
So I have a Blu-ray Disc with Dolby Atmos I watched on a Samsung BD-J7500 passed thru to a Denon 4300H AVR. The Denon showed Dolby Atmos as the audio format without a problem. I then copied the blu-ray with MakeMKV onto an external hard drive. Then, I tried viewing the movie via Plex on the J7500 directed thru the 4300H. However, the audio format shown on the 4300H was not Dolby Atmos, but Dolby Digital + (LogoS) (the DD logo plus an S) That format is described in the 4300H manual as Dolby Digital+ with Dolby Surround, not Dolby Atmos. So I'm wondering what happened to the Atmos format. Is it being lost in the MakeMKV copy, the PLEX playback thru the J7600, or the 4300H interpretation? Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:44 pm
Posts: 4
Most likely it's plex, you may want to check if it's doing "Direct Play" or if it's transcoding. You can check the info overlay on the device, or from the server look at the now playing to see. I'd take a look on the plex forum to see if others have Atmos working, I don't have a receiver that supports it yet to tell ya much more, but that's the direction I'd look.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 7
ImCoKeMaN wrote:
Most likely it's plex, you may want to check if it's doing "Direct Play" or if it's transcoding. You can check the info overlay on the device, or from the server look at the now playing to see. I'd take a look on the plex forum to see if others have Atmos working, I don't have a receiver that supports it yet to tell ya much more, but that's the direction I'd look.


Just tried changing the PLEX settings to direct play, streaming, transcoding....no change. I'll go to the PLEX site and try there. Is there any question about MMKV copying the DA capability?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:28 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Left of Center
No issues with MakeMKV and Atmos; I've three movies with Atmos that I've converted to .mkv files, MediaInfo verified Atmos.

_________________
Help Keep MakeMKV Going - http://www.makemkv.com/buy/

Latest Beta Key - http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053
Multiple Playlists? - http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6316&start=15


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 7
yorgo wrote:
No issues with MakeMKV and Atmos; I've three movies with Atmos that I've converted to .mkv files, MediaInfo verified Atmos.


Were there any special settings to do Atmos, or just the standard duplication?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:59 am
Posts: 34
Does the J7500 Plex client support Atmos?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 7
T'hain Esh Kelch wrote:
Does the J7500 Plex client support Atmos?

How would I know that? I know the J7500 passes Atmos because it does when I play an Atmos Blu-ray.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:28 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Left of Center
glassetcher wrote:
yorgo wrote:
No issues with MakeMKV and Atmos; I've three movies with Atmos that I've converted to .mkv files, MediaInfo verified Atmos.


Were there any special settings to do Atmos, or just the standard duplication?


No special settings, just make sure you're including the Dolby TrueHD audio track.

_________________
Help Keep MakeMKV Going - http://www.makemkv.com/buy/

Latest Beta Key - http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053
Multiple Playlists? - http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6316&start=15


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:28 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Left of Center
glassetcher wrote:
T'hain Esh Kelch wrote:
Does the J7500 Plex client support Atmos?

How would I know that? I know the J7500 passes Atmos because it does when I play an Atmos Blu-ray.


That may be, but it may not support Atmos or other hi-resolution audio from an .mkv file. Don't use Plex or any streaming service built into a TV.
Also, does Plex list audio tracks available such as the TrueHD audio track? Can you select it?

_________________
Help Keep MakeMKV Going - http://www.makemkv.com/buy/

Latest Beta Key - http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053
Multiple Playlists? - http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6316&start=15


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:59 am
Posts: 34
glassetcher wrote:
How would I know that?

It is your Blu-ray player, not ours. Check your manual to see if it is supported in matroska files.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:43 pm
Posts: 12
I have zero issues with atmos playing on my rips with plex. I'm using the Nvidia Shield primarily but sometimes i'll play the file via my Oppo 203. Nothing special in terms of ripping needs to be done.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 7
OK, so here's the latest. I didn't realize there was a box to check to include 7.1 Dolby when ripping. Found that and checked it as well as the 5.1 option. Ripped movie showed the same audio indication as I mentioned at the beginning. So, then I checked only the 7.1 option. This time the Denon display on the AVR showed the same, but at the same time the GUI on the TV screen included the word Atmos. The ceiling speakers are definitely operational, but am I really getting Atmos or not? Don't know how to determine that. Anyway, sounds pretty good so I guess I'll let it go at that and enjoy......


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:10 pm
Posts: 7
archer75 wrote:
I have zero issues with atmos playing on my rips with plex. I'm using the Nvidia Shield primarily but sometimes i'll play the file via my Oppo 203. Nothing special in terms of ripping needs to be done.


My understanding is the Oppo 203 doesn't have any smart apps on it. How are you playing Plex files through the Oppo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:43 pm
Posts: 12
glassetcher wrote:
archer75 wrote:
I have zero issues with atmos playing on my rips with plex. I'm using the Nvidia Shield primarily but sometimes i'll play the file via my Oppo 203. Nothing special in terms of ripping needs to be done.


My understanding is the Oppo 203 doesn't have any smart apps on it. How are you playing Plex files through the Oppo?


It has a network browser. And it sees plex shares.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:43 pm
Posts: 12
glassetcher wrote:
OK, so here's the latest. I didn't realize there was a box to check to include 7.1 Dolby when ripping. Found that and checked it as well as the 5.1 option. Ripped movie showed the same audio indication as I mentioned at the beginning. So, then I checked only the 7.1 option. This time the Denon display on the AVR showed the same, but at the same time the GUI on the TV screen included the word Atmos. The ceiling speakers are definitely operational, but am I really getting Atmos or not? Don't know how to determine that. Anyway, sounds pretty good so I guess I'll let it go at that and enjoy......

Your receiver should display atmos.

I only rip the HD audio track. No other audio.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group