Windows XP hard crash while ripping

Everything related to MakeMKV
sgmfish

Windows XP hard crash while ripping

Post by sgmfish »

I am new to Blu-ray backup software (altho not to DVD backups). At the moment I have settled on purchasing either MakeMKV or AnyDVD. I have both installed on my system as trial periods. AnyDVD seems to be working fine, but I like the "one-step" approach of MakeMKV.

However, on my first real test of MakeMKV (v1.8.0) with Blu-ray disc "Days of Heaven", my Windows XPsp3 system suffers a hard crash. I don't even get a BSOD.....just a hard black screen. I tried to set up a Dr Watson dump (since I see that you typically ask for one), but because it is a hard stop, even Dr Watson does not get a chance to run. I have attempted this after clean boots, with AnyDVD enabled and disabled, and multiple times. The system crashes every time after about 5 minutes (about 3.5 GB) of ripping.

My system rarely suffers a BSOD, and never (that I remember) a hard crash like this.
Smithcraft

Re: Windows XP hard crash while ripping

Post by Smithcraft »

Do other discs rip ok?

SC

ps - Both are excellent tools to have, but I think I've only needed AnyDVD HD once after I started using MakeMKV.
sgmfish

Post by sgmfish »

Do other discs rip ok?
Like I say, I am just now evaluating MakeMKV. I only tried the one Blu-ray disc (see above). Given your suggestion, I just tried another blu-ray disc (this time "Zero Dark Thirty"). Same thing......total hard "black screen" crash under WXPsp3. This time approx 11GB were transferred before the crash occurs.
Smithcraft

Post by Smithcraft »

Most peculiar. Might have to wait for Mike to comment.

SC
mike admin

Post by mike admin »

sgmfish wrote:My system rarely suffers a BSOD, and never (that I remember) a hard crash like this.
I can't even think of a cause. Let's rule out the drive first. Please grab a disc image to ISO with Anydvd, and then open the produced ISO file from MakeMKV (File->Open).
sgmfish