www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV support forum
It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 12:56 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am
Posts: 830
-sel:true

-sel = deselect

true = affirmative/this/yes/[the equivalent of 'all' which most recent profiles now use instead anyway]

The use of true shows exactly how the default selection settings actually work, ie they're applied to each output track individually. Which is why I'm thinking all these new audio encoding options disabled the N option... at least I assume N is disabled, I've never been able to get it working.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:08 pm
Posts: 2
So is there a means to set how many cores of processor the program uses without using/writing your code? Does MakeMKV automatically use what's available on your processor?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 5085
Not that I've seen, but MakeMKV hardly shows on the CPU meter when ripping. Watching it rip a BD, one core seems a bit elevated in activity over background, but still under 15%, and 7-10% overall.

I've ripped 2 BDs simultaneously with a dual-core Celeron processor without peaking out its cores. That machine seems to hit its 100Mb/s network limitation before it reaches 50% CPU activity.

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:08 pm
Posts: 2
Thank you Woodstock. What you just told me answers my questions because I have an "older" computer with one core that is using almost 100% of the CPU and takes almost 8 hours to compress a video. Sounds like its time for an upgrade.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm
Posts: 5085
Compressing is a different thing than ripping... If you're running handbrake on a single core, yes, you REALLY need to update. :)

_________________
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:47 am
Posts: 6
I'm trying to convert flac to 16bit because I uses less space and the quality is the same. I add "-sample_fmt s16" to my extra args but it doesn't work.

Anyone can help?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 58
No, the quality is not the same, it's not lossless when you change the bit depth...

Increasse the compression ratio with the options I talked about earlier if you want to increase the compression ratio.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 7:04 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Palo Alto, CA
I'm late to the party here. Should I be using this custom profile or is the standard flac profile the ticket?

I'm looking to playback raw mkv files directly from USB into the TV or sound bar but it's not liking the compressed multi channel audio. I'm obviously missing a step, like reprocessing the files before I attempt to play them. OK I'll just keep reading the forum here, thank you :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 8:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 58
jonghotti wrote:
I'm late to the party here. Should I be using this custom profile or is the standard flac profile the ticket?

I'm looking to playback raw mkv files directly from USB into the TV or sound bar but it's not liking the compressed multi channel audio. I'm obviously missing a step, like reprocessing the files before I attempt to play them. OK I'll just keep reading the forum here, thank you :)



It's been years since I've looked at the standard profiles, but I made this one to increase the compression ratio for flac, as well as losslessly extract TrueHD and DTS-HD MA audio streams, so yeah, this one is the better choice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 5:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 7:04 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Thank you sir.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 9:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 12, 2018 2:45 pm
Posts: 1
This profile doesn't seem to be working for me to copy the DTSHD-MA track. Also are there any profile options that can be set to restrict track exported?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group