www.makemkv.com

MakeMKV support forum
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 5:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:24 pm
Posts: 5
Location: France
I create a universal (Windows 32 and 64 bit) batch script to symlink BD+ and AACS libraries for some apps.

Download: https://gist.github.com/hmsintrepide/d8837f2577bec56889f581a8f7376166
Report bug: https://github.com/hmsintrepide/libmmbd_installer/issues

Version 3
Auto Admin rights (with powershell, win7+)

Version 2
HandBrake 32/64-bit (1.0.1 tested)
Kodi (16.1 and 17.0 tested)
Use mklink instead of copy

Version 1
VLC 32/64 (2.2.4 tested)


Last edited by hmsintrepide on Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am
Posts: 830
Since you need administrator privileges anyway, you might as well just put symbolic links to the libraries in the VLC directory.

That way you don't have to copy the libraries every time MakeMKV updates to make sure you have the latest versions and you don't need three copies of each dll on your system.

MKLINK %vlc64%"\libaacs.dll" %libmmbd64%

It works for Handbrake and Kodi too.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 1:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:24 pm
Posts: 5
Location: France
ndjamena wrote:
Since you need administrator privileges anyway, you might as well just put symbolic links to the libraries in the VLC directory.

That way you don't have to copy the libraries every time MakeMKV updates to make sure you have the latest versions and you don't need three copies of each dll on your system.

MKLINK %vlc64%"\libaacs.dll" %libmmbd64%

It works for Handbrake and Kodi too.

Thanks,
I make version 2 with mklink and add handbrake/kodi apps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am
Posts: 830
Just a nitpick, but it's generally called "Administrator Rights" (plural). It looks kind of odd the way you've written it.

If anyone is interested this a batch that will call administrator rights automatically.

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/3759 ... ost2471615

It's set to put a vbs script in the %temp% folder.

Essentially just put the batch in a path folder and call it like:

CALL BatchName.bat "%~f0" %*

From within any other batch and it should just work.

MKLink can't be called from vbs scripts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:24 pm
Posts: 5
Location: France
ndjamena wrote:
Just a nitpick, but it's generally called "Administrator Rights" (plural). It looks kind of odd the way you've written it.

If anyone is interested this a batch that will call administrator rights automatically.

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/3759 ... ost2471615

It's set to put a vbs script in the %temp% folder.

Essentially just put the batch in a path folder and call it like:

CALL BatchName.bat "%~f0" %*

From within any other batch and it should just work.

MKLink can't be called from vbs scripts.


I use powershell for privilege elevation. This is the smallest method, I think.
Code:
if exist %SystemRoot%"\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe" (
      powershell Start-Process cmd -ArgumentList '/k "%0"' -Verb runAs
   ) else (
      echo Start this script with Administrator rights!
      pause
   )
exit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am
Posts: 830
Should I report bugs here or there?

Your elevation code doesn't work if the batch has a path with a space in it.

If there's a way to call cmd from powershell from cmd and pass arguments with spaces I haven't found it yet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:00 pm
Posts: 3
Just wanted to let everyone know that while this method works fine for VLC 2.2.4 (Windows, 64-bit), it's not working with VLC 2.2.6, Windows 64-bit. Libmmbd64.dll renamed libaacs.dll or sitting in the VLC folder as a symbolic link named libaacs.dll leads to VLC saying it can't find a usable libaacs.dll for decryption. I haven't tried a BD-Plus title to check on that.

Downgrading from VLC 2.2.6 to VLC 2.2.4 immediately brought back direct BluRay playback. Handbrake is currently unaffected.

I am also using MakeMKV and VLC 2.2.4 (both 64-bit) under Mac OS X. I haven't yet tried to see what updating VLC to 2.2.5.1 does in that environment. I fear it isn't good. Hope this helps someone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:43 pm
Posts: 1
GHender3 wrote:
Just wanted to let everyone know that while this method works fine for VLC 2.2.4 (Windows, 64-bit), it's not working with VLC 2.2.6, Windows 64-bit. Libmmbd64.dll renamed libaacs.dll or sitting in the VLC folder as a symbolic link named libaacs.dll leads to VLC saying it can't find a usable libaacs.dll for decryption. I haven't tried a BD-Plus title to check on that.

Downgrading from VLC 2.2.6 to VLC 2.2.4 immediately brought back direct BluRay playback. Handbrake is currently unaffected.

I am also using MakeMKV and VLC 2.2.4 (both 64-bit) under Mac OS X. I haven't yet tried to see what updating VLC to 2.2.5.1 does in that environment. I fear it isn't good. Hope this helps someone.


Thank you, this did help.
Can confirm, 2.2.5.1 does not work. Had to drop back to 2.2.4.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 6:00 pm
Posts: 3
meesterexx wrote:
GHender3 wrote:
Just wanted to let everyone know that while this method works fine for VLC 2.2.4 (Windows, 64-bit), it's not working with VLC 2.2.6, Windows 64-bit. Libmmbd64.dll renamed libaacs.dll or sitting in the VLC folder as a symbolic link named libaacs.dll leads to VLC saying it can't find a usable libaacs.dll for decryption. I haven't tried a BD-Plus title to check on that.

Downgrading from VLC 2.2.6 to VLC 2.2.4 immediately brought back direct BluRay playback. Handbrake is currently unaffected.

I am also using MakeMKV and VLC 2.2.4 (both 64-bit) under Mac OS X. I haven't yet tried to see what updating VLC to 2.2.5.1 does in that environment. I fear it isn't good. Hope this helps someone.


Thank you, this did help.
Can confirm, 2.2.5.1 does not work. Had to drop back to 2.2.4.


For what it's worth, VLC 2.2.5.1 works just as well as 2.2.4 using Makemkv under Mac OS X. An official release of 2.2.6 isn't yet available for Mac. So I didn't have to revert there. I have no explanation for Handbrake working fine but not VLC, or why this is only happening in Windows. Glad to see that I was able to help someone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:12 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

looks like Kodi 18 has also problems with this. In Kodi 17 it was working but in Kodi 18 it crashes if the files are in the Kodi folder and a BD is in the drive.

Code:
Thread 1248 (process 12108)
# 0 strlen
# 1 aacs_open_device
# 2 bd_stop_bdj
# 3 bd_stop_bdj
# 4 bd_stop_bdj
# 5 bd_stop_bdj
# 6 bd_stop_bdj
# 7 bd_stop_bdj
# 8 process_jpeg
# 9 process_jpeg
#10
#11
#12 process_jpeg
#13
#14
#15
#16 set_app_type
#17 BaseThreadInitThunk
#18 RtlGetAppContainerNamedObjectPath
#19 RtlGetAppContainerNamedObjectPath


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

this problem is discussed over here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

it looks like this is a problem in libmmbd. At some point it does a string length check where a NULL value is allowed in libaacs. This leads to the exception shown here.

This problem affects VLC because it also uses libbluray.

Do we have chance that this is addressed in libmmbd?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:12 pm
Posts: 3
Thank you joniw to pointing this out. It's great to see that I'm not alone with this problem.

I hope that Mike reads here and can find a solution for this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:12 pm
Posts: 3
joniw wrote:
Hello,
it looks like this is a problem in libmmbd.


Are sure that the problem is really in that lib an not in the underlying makemkv?
I ask because mike said here http://makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7008 that this part of MakeMKV is OpenSource.
And that would mean that anybody could fix it.

Just an idea.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:46 pm
Posts: 5
CryptMan wrote:
And that would mean that anybody could fix it.

That is right, i can insert a fix there. My problem is i am using windows and i do not have a proper build chain for windows. For me it seems to be an easy fix but i do not how many changes in makemkv are needed to support this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group