Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Discussion of advanced MakeMKV functionality, expert mode, conversion profiles
Post Reply
RRAHSP
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:28 pm

Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by RRAHSP »

Hello,

is it possible to force MakeMKV by conversion profile to output always 24bit when converting from DTS to LPCM?

If so, how does it work?

Many thanks
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

This might work:

Code: Select all

    <audioMixSettings name="All24bit"
        outputBPS="24">
    </audioMixSettings>

    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString"
                audioMix="All24bit">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

...Or at least it would have if I'd used the Mix Settings name rather than the Output Format name. Fixed. I just tried it on Astro Boy and it worked... Although now the audio is about four times the size as it used to be.
RRAHSP
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by RRAHSP »

ndjamena wrote:...Or at least it would have if I'd used the Mix Settings name rather than the Output Format name. Fixed. I just tried it on Astro Boy and it worked... Although now the audio is about four times the size as it used to be.
Would you post your command lines please? It has still not working for me.
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

These are all the lines necessary for DTS-MA:

Code: Select all

    <audioMixSettings name="ConvertTo24bit"
        outputBPS="24">
    </audioMixSettings>


    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-stereo">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString"
                audioMix="ConvertTo24bit">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
    <trackSettings input="DTSHDMA-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="copy"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString">
        </output>
        <output outputSettingsName="wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString"
                audioMix="ConvertTo24bit">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
I'm just playing around here. Would you rather I post an entire script?
tebasuna51
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by tebasuna51 »

ndjamena wrote:These are all the lines necessary for DTS-MA:
The problem is not with DTS-MA because losless audio have bitdepth and don't need force at all.
Must be decoded at the internal bitdepth.

The problem is with DTS-multi (or DTS-stereo).
I test:

Code: Select all

    <audioMixSettings name="All24bit"
        outputBPS="24">
    </audioMixSettings>

    <trackSettings input="DTS-multi">
        <output outputSettingsName="wavex"
                defaultSelection="$app_DefaultSelectionString"
                audioMix="All24bit">
        </output>
    </trackSettings>
And don't work, is decoded to 16 bits.

Edit: Added Feature request: http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8360
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

Ergo Proxy was the only DVD I had with actual DTS inside and the 24 bit conversion worked perfectly while re-muxing the MKV.

Are you aware that a basic DTS track needs a different entry in the profile as a DTS core from inside a DTS-HD track?

Code: Select all

            <xs:enumeration value="DTS-stereo"/>
            <xs:enumeration value="DTS-multi"/>
            <xs:enumeration value="DTSHD-core-stereo"/>
            <xs:enumeration value="DTSHD-core-multi"/>
-Edit- By the way, the DTS-MA track I converted was originally 16 Bit.
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

I'm trying to figure out what you're on about. Are you saying the DTS is being decoded as 16 bit and then converted to 24 bit from there? I can't find anything that says that's what it's doing on my end but maybe you have a different Operating System and can see more of what's going on.
Romansh
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by Romansh »

Not sure what FFmpeg might have done on their end, but last time I checked the libavcodec DTS decoder only ever decodes to float now (it used to decode to 16-bit signed integer only, but that was so long ago, I doubt such an old libavcodec would ever work with MakeMKV).
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

If you're talking about mmdtsdec.exe you should probably say so.
tebasuna51
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by tebasuna51 »

tebasuna51 wrote:And don't work, is decoded to 16 bits.
Was my fault in the profile.

Is upsampled to 24 bits with 0's, and is not the solution.
See details in http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8360

We need downsample the float samples from decoders to 24 bits.
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

Interestingly enough, it does the same thing even if the original DTS track is flagged as 24 bit.
tebasuna51
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by tebasuna51 »

Yep, the info is about the bitdepth of the PCM source, and some encoders put always 24 bits even if the source was 16 bits.
Is a useless info, decoders don't use this flag for nothing.
ndjamena
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:23 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by ndjamena »

EAC3To uses the ArcSoft decoder too and seems to be able to output proper 24 bit

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p ... ost1404372
ArcSoft outputs 16bit without the patching, I think.
I'm not sure what 'patching' means though. It could just be dithering it after the fact but I don't know.
tebasuna51
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Converting DTS to LPCM - Force 24bit Output

Post by tebasuna51 »

You are right with eac3to ArcSoft output the bitdepth in the flag.
The patch is change the flag value 16b to 24b in all DTS headers.
For that is the default with eac3to, don't have sense read this flag to decode.

eac3to T51_16b.dts T51_16b_Arc.wav -full -dontPatchDts
The output is PCM 16b.

eac3to T51_16b.dts T51_16b_Arc2.wav -full
The output is PCM 24b.

The -full parameter override any eac3to up/downsample.
For instance using libav (ffmpeg) instead ArcSoft:

eac3to T51_16b.dts T51_16b_Libav.wav -full -libav
The output is PCM 64b float.

But here seems don't work the same.
Post Reply