Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Everything related to MakeMKV
Post Reply
Woodstock
Posts: 6166
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by Woodstock » Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:40 am

It comes up quite often that people want to change the output file name, or select/deselect particular tracks within a title. These are best done with "Expert mode" turned on, which is set in the Preferences->General menu.

First, you have to OPEN the disk, rather than BACKUP the disk. The buttons involved look like this, if you have loaded a Bluray:

Image

After you select Open, things will churn for a bit, before displaying the selection screen:

Image

"Left Menu" is where the titles will be displayed, with each title having selection check box, and an expand/contract triangle next to it. The selection box determines if that title will be ripped (checked) or not (not checked). Clicking on the triangle will expand or contract the list of tracks within the title, which will allow you to select individual tracks (audio, subtitle, 3D MVC) within that title.

The "Chapters" entry has a triangle to expand to show you the list of chapters... You cannot select individual ones, sorry.

With expert mode, the upper right side of the screen allows you to change the properties of various things. The most obvious one you'll use is the Output folder, but the Properties entry will let you check or change the disk name, which I've done here:

Image

As a result of changing the disk name, notice that the Left menu area changed, too; The disk name was applied to the title names.

By selecting one of the titles in the left menu, we can change the Name property, which also affects the "File name" property in the Info section:

Image

We can then go after other properties, by clicking on the Name button:

Image

With the file name being the most likely target of our work:

Image

Image

You can repeat this for multiple titles; When dealing with a television series with multiple episodes, the use of Copy/Paste comes in very handy, and it is usually simpler if you are using the keyboard, rather than a mouse, to do it.

Hopefully, this will help.

madfloyd
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by madfloyd » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:20 am

Why does MakeMkv insist on replacing spaces with the -_' character?

Woodstock
Posts: 6166
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by Woodstock » Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:14 pm

Because some operating systems do not like spaces as well as they say they do. Especially when it comes to "mis-placed" spaces.

You can, through MakeMKV and other applications, put spaces in places that make a file difficult to work with. "My Movie .mkv" can be created with MakeMKV, and Windows Explorer will not be able to copy it or delete it, because of the space between the name and extension. If the Windows default "Hide extensions for known file types" is still in force, you would never see the reason why, without dropping to the command line and doing a directory. Leading spaces are an even bigger issue; thankfully, they're harder to insert.

I still want the ability to turn substitution off, though.

Oh, if you ever run into the space-at-end problem, you can delete or rename the files in CMD.EXE by putting quotes around the "bad" name.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

MSDowney
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:12 pm

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by MSDowney » Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:44 pm

Thank you so much... This has helped greatly. It would be nice if you could select something that would use the base name for all chapters selected but this helps so much. Thank you for taking the time

DJ155
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:50 am

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by DJ155 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:34 pm

Is there a way of auto renaming based on mpls xxxxx etc?
So if 12345mpls is the correct one (just an example) the output be 12345.mkv

Thanks

Woodstock
Posts: 6166
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by Woodstock » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:42 am

Not that I know of. It probably would be a good feature request, though.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

rwhfdha
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:58 pm

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by rwhfdha » Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:53 pm

Switching on "expert mode" and selecting the language from the Left menu did the trick of getting my MKV in the desired language. Thanks for the help. rwhfdha :)

markolarko
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:56 am

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by markolarko » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:12 pm

I dont see 'filename' when I click on 'Properties ..Name in the Experts Mode all I can select is Metadata Language and Name... No Filename as per this post above?

When I rip the Blueray say of a film called Bound... it get written as Bound_t02.mkv (I only want the main Film and none of the other files)

I dont want to have to go back and change the filename to Bound ... Is it possible to force MKV to not add the _t02?

I realise this wont work if you are ripping more than one file but having the ability to name the output file as I want it is what I want if possible

Thanks in anticipation?

Woodstock
Posts: 6166
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by Woodstock » Wed Jan 02, 2019 2:30 pm

Where do you have the cursor in the LEFT menu, when you click on the Properties "pull down button"?

If it is on the top line of the left window, you will only have "Name" and "Meta Language". If it is on any of the titles, though, "File name" will be added to the selections.

Starting with 1.14.x, the Advanced tab of Preferences has "Output file name template", which you can change as you see fit. Removing "{_t:N2}" from the end of the template will remove the title number from the generated file name. If you do that, though, you will need to resolve name conflicts on your own.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

markolarko
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:56 am

Re: Changing names with Expert mode enabled

Post by markolarko » Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:39 am

Hey Woodstock
Thanks for this advice. Much appreciated.

As I only rip the main film folder I do not need this suffix. Also I have noticed that when you use Media Monkey to manage the titles you can point at the folder rather than the actual file. This now means that from now on I dont need to worry too much about how the MakeMKV names the output file which with your advice/assistance.

Mark

Post Reply