New to Makemvk and have a few questions...

Everything related to MakeMKV
HTPC23

New to Makemvk and have a few questions...

Post by HTPC23 »

So I am new to Makemkv and just had a few questions...

I currently use MediaBrowser Theatre to watch my media collection and have been using AnyDVD to rip my Blu-Rays to digital format on my home server. I was using just the standard Blu-Ray format where I would have lets say the movie 'GLADIATOR' and within that folder I would have a BDMV and CERTIFICATE folders. I have noticed when playing those movies back that the right 'track' is not playing and sometime subtitles would not work.'

Someone turned me on to Makemkv which seem to let me pick which track I want to rip. My questions are as follows...
1) Do I lose any video quality with Makemkv over what I am currently doing?
2) Do I lose any audio quality with Makemkv over what I am currently doing?
3) Should I continue to use AnyDVD to rip the Blu-Ray and then use Makemkv or just start with Makemkv at the beginning?

Thanks for any help/guidance/assistance and I am sure I will have more questions to follow.
matt198t

Re: New to Makemvk and have a few questions...

Post by matt198t »

HTPC23 wrote:
Someone turned me on to Makemkv which seem to let me pick which track I want to rip. My questions are as follows...
1) Do I lose any video quality with Makemkv over what I am currently doing? video will be exactly the same as what's on the disc
2) Do I lose any audio quality with Makemkv over what I am currently doing? audio will be exactly the same as what's on the disc
3) Should I continue to use AnyDVD to rip the Blu-Ray and then use Makemkv or just start with Makemkv at the beginning?
use makemkv solely. the best program in the business imo
KiltedShane

Post by KiltedShane »

I've been using MakeMKV for a couple of years and quite like it, though I am still a bit of a novice in the ripping game.

Somebody correct me if I am wrong ...