New twist in anti-copy technology

Everything related to MakeMKV
robertsd

New twist in anti-copy technology

Post by robertsd »

Just received the Season 5 blu-ray's of Downton Abbey.
The distributor has added a new twist to the anti-copy method.
The last episode in each blu-ray is made up of several (as many as 15) separate files.
Doing a backup leaves many content files:

Doing an open disk leaves several pages of selections all with the same names and file lengths.

A Blu-ray player can find the information and figure out the way to piece together the file sequence to make an entire episode.

One clue is that in the open disk mode, looking at the descriptions of several selections with the same name, the sequence numbers are in a different order.

If you leave all selected, you get a warning that the space needed is huge. (Told me it needed 4TB to copy the selected files).
I'm a newbie and can't figure out how to paste screen images, or I would have for clarity.
Using version MakeMKV v1.9.1 win(x64-release)
Anyone else having this problem?
I just noticed that the reported Protection is AACS v50
Woodstock

Re: New twist in anti-copy technology

Post by Woodstock »

Multiple "almost right" play lists is a very popular thing to do with movies. So far, the "fix" has been to check internet to find out which title is "correct", although some programs are interpreting the menus on the DVDs and BDs in question, with mixed results.

This is entirely separate from AACS, which works at the hardware level, by modifying your drive's firmware to block use of "compromised" decryption keys.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
robertsd

Post by robertsd »

Looks like this is what happening with the TV episodes. Trouble is all the play lists have exactly the same name.

I guess the question is, if a blu-ray player can figure out which playlist is correct, can MakeMKV?
Woodstock

Post by Woodstock »