No MakeMKV.exe created on fresh install

Everything related to MakeMKV
cat-charlie

No MakeMKV.exe created on fresh install

Post by cat-charlie »

Hi,

Yesterday installed the Makemkv 1.9.5 from the website as I noticed there was a more recent version, it installed fine and I ripped a DVD using it without any issues; however today when I went to use MakeMKV it could not find the exe from the shortcut in the start menu (Using Windows 10). I uninstalled MakeMKV and reinstalled it again, though this time it also didn't install the makeMKV.exe file, I tried uninstalling/reinstalling it a few times in a couple of different places and 'install as administrator' (even though I am an admin) and downloaded the installer for 1.9.4 but none of them created the MakeMKV.exe file.

I also used 7-Zip to 'open archive' on the Setup_MakeMKV_v1.9.4.exe and Setup_MakeMKV_v1.9.5.exe and it just displayed the files that are already installed and a $PLUGINSDIR folder with some .dll files, and it didn't have a MakeMKV.exe file in.

I have also just downloaded a couple more versions of the older installers (1.8.10, 1.9.1, 1.9.2 and 1.9.3) and all of them are missing MakeMKV.exe in them.

I am presuming that, as the installers have all of the other files that are installed, there should be a MakeMKV.exe in the installer and it isn't generated during the install (as during the install it says 'extracting MakeMKV.exe ...100%).

So to sum it up, I have tried installing MakeMKV and the MakeMKV.exe file hasn't been installed. Is this something that has happened before, if so is there a fix/work around; if not any ideas?

thank you for any help you can provide.

Apologies if this is in the wrong section of the forum.
Woodstock

Re: No MakeMKV.exe created on fresh install

Post by Woodstock »

Windows 10, it would not surprise me that BitDefender is interfering. It's been causing crashes when ripping Bluray disks. It is entirely possible it is being quarantined, making it "disappear".