UHD Help

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
mrdamour

UHD Help

Post by mrdamour »

Hello All

I've been a happy MakeMKV supporter (and user) for years now and I'm just getting into UHD rips. I'm running into a problem with my first UHD purchase and I was hoping to reach out to all the fine folks here on the forum for a bit of help.

First a bit about the setup.

MakeMKV 1.10.10 running on Mac with High Sierra
ASUS BW-16D1X-U (hoping this isn't the hang up here as the forum mentioned ASUS BW-16--- as good UHD friendly drives)

I've looked through the threads. Downloaded the latest hashed keys at the forum link. Unzipped and added the file to my MakeMKV directory (see uploaded attachment).

Do I need to put the hashed keys in a folder? My first title (Baywatch) shows up on the list so I was hoping it would grab the key for it but my ASUS just tries to read the disc and then spits it out.

Is there a visual feedback element that tells if MakeMKV is reading the keys properly? I'm a bit stuck and would appreciate an assist across the finish line.

Thanks so much for this awesome community and your help.

Marc
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 5.15.35 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 5.15.35 PM.png (247.35 KiB) Viewed 13409 times
tvguy7

Re: UHD Help

Post by tvguy7 »

The drive is the problem. The external drive will not work. You need the Asus BW-16D1HT. I've successfully ripped several UHD discs with that drive. There was an erroneous post that any of the BW-16D models would work but that is not the case.
Woodstock

Post by Woodstock »

ASUS BW-16D1X-U (hoping this isn't the hang up here as the forum mentioned ASUS BW-16--- as good UHD friendly drives)
The BW-16DX1X-U is NOT part of the BW-16D1HT family, despite its labeling. You would think it was (I certainly did), but it is a different drive inside that case, and the drive inside is NOT BDXL capable.