hdr and windows 7

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
Post Reply
makememe
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 10:15 am

hdr and windows 7

Post by makememe » Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:35 pm

Maybe this post will irritate some as it probably answered everywhere I did not look, my apologies in that case, but I searched and found contradiction.

The question: does anyone have hdr recognized on their hdr tv when using windows 7 pc? If so, what is the magic formula?

nvidia devs say win7 or later for hdr. I get it that win10 comes with some more uptodate features down this road, but I have yet to resign to it.

In case you are wondering, my gpu is pascal architecture. I do not consider this problem hardware, so back to the basic question of win7. I went with the dev at nvidia and have not considered it my problem. I tried vlc4.0 and mpv because I have read others say those players work with hdr. nothing.

Thanks.

Deraga
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:58 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by Deraga » Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:21 am

makememe wrote:Maybe this post will irritate some as it probably answered everywhere I did not look, my apologies in that case, but I searched and found contradiction.

The question: does anyone have hdr recognized on their hdr tv when using windows 7 pc? If so, what is the magic formula?

nvidia devs say win7 or later for hdr. I get it that win10 comes with some more uptodate features down this road, but I have yet to resign to it.

In case you are wondering, my gpu is pascal architecture. I do not consider this problem hardware, so back to the basic question of win7. I went with the dev at nvidia and have not considered it my problem. I tried vlc4.0 and mpv because I have read others say those players work with hdr. nothing.

Thanks.
From what I am finding out. Windows 7 does not support HDR and will not support it officially. Which gpu are you using?

First you must tell your TV/monitor to look for HDR content by going into your settings of the TV. I am using gtx960 with mpc-be. There are several tutorials on it. I am also using win10

meme2
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by meme2 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:45 pm

I appreciate the response, but my setup is where hdr goes to die from the autosenseing perspective.

I have an lg c7 (latest firmware, all ports support hdr--turned on.) I see nothing in this tv that allows me to turn off hdr autosense. msi gtx 1080, good hdmi cables (hdr recognized by c7 from ps4 playing ac origins), updated software throughout to include recent mobo firmware and nvidia driver. what I have yet to figure out is why smart picture mode is greyed out. I wonder even though it appears to not matter given the c7 autosenses hdr from the ps4, but I cannot help but wonder why that option is there given I have yet to figure out what greyed it out.

per nvidia dev: win7 and up for hdr, but I wonder how to setup an exclusive player. I was working that when I noticed your post.

after reading many having no problems having their tv autosense hdr from their pc while using win10, I purchased win10 pro and installed it on temp setup to test. as you know, I can turn on hdr within win10 and the tv recognizes the change with hdr notification. that is a positive from the pc, but the autosensing still does not work.

I backed up another hdr video with mkv12, no change.

per dxdiag, all is supported (11 & 12) to include with win10 the settings to look for.

EVERYTHING appears to support hdr, but I have yet to get this fing tv to autosense hdr from this fing pc, win7 or win10.

what is left to try?? oh yeah, I have tried numerous players from vlc 3 to 4 and mpv and divx and on and on.....


UPDATE: I forgot to mention that vlc is the only player I have tried that the c7 recognized dolby atmos. the c7 recognizes that from the pc, but not the kind of important hdr. hey, maybe the hdr notification is behind the atmos sign. tooooo....skin them first...

gereral1
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:50 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by gereral1 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:41 am

Did u try my hdr tag on enable video? Google my name for it.

meme2
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by meme2 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:34 am

Prior to testing what you have done, it is early am, I have to show my appreciation for the work you do to help the community get this type of configuration working.

Thank YOU!!

meme2
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by meme2 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:42 pm

Kodi with plex addon, hdr autosense. I have hdr autosense from pc, yippee, but I am not sure why only kodi from this pc. For example, hdr examples do not trigger hdr autosense. I do not get it.

I am still not sold on the difference. Side by side, I guess 4khdr vs 1080p different, but as I look through 2049 I might see minor differences. ...not enough of a difference, imo.

Thanks for the help.

DecryptThis
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by DecryptThis » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:25 pm

In playing with HDR on my i7-6700K Windows 7 PC, I found I can send a an HDR10 or HLG playback file to my Sony X900F TV through the integrated graphics or GPU, and as long as I set the TV manually to BT2020 and the correct HDR (HDR10/HLG), the TV displays them in correct HDR glory, with correct gamma and colors. The HDR compatibility people tend to only think of is DRM content, and auto sensing meta data. The meta data on an HDR file simply tells the TV set what mode to switch to, but if your TV can be manually toggled like my Sony, then it's not an issue, assuming your not dealing with DMR.

Pau

annisman
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:03 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by annisman » Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:34 am

Win 7 can pass HDR content using MADVR and MPC-BE, working for me on LG B6.

shannow
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 7:49 am

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by shannow » Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:00 am

annisman wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:34 am
Win 7 can pass HDR content using MADVR and MPC-BE, working for me on LG B6.
I just got this to work on my B7 but every now and then there is micro stuttering. Is there an option in the tv that can help smooth it out while HDR is on?
I have a GTX980 and i7-4790k, i have a dual monitor setup

st4evr
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:38 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by st4evr » Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:26 pm

shannow wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:00 am
annisman wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:34 am
Win 7 can pass HDR content using MADVR and MPC-BE, working for me on LG B6.
I just got this to work on my B7 but every now and then there is micro stuttering. Is there an option in the tv that can help smooth it out while HDR is on?
I have a GTX980 and i7-4790k, i have a dual monitor setup
It is most likely NOT your TV or a setting on your TV. You will need to learn to configure MadVR for your specific setup. What works for that guy may not work for you.

I had stuttering through MadVR + MPC and also when using it through JRiver in the past and I had adjust and configure them to best fit my own setup. It took some time, patience, and learning. You are going to have to put some more of your time into this.

You have to figure out what processing, scaling algorithm, and rendering settings best work for YOU. As this discussion can go into extreme detail and this is NOT the MadVR support forum (one already exists and it's supported by its own developers), it could be the best place for you to start as most of us did and as there are already thousands of discussions there in detail regarding setup and settings across the board.

Their support forum can be found here:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=146228

There are also some tutorials scattered across Google that allow you to get starter/familiar with MadVR and MPC settings that may be also helpful like this one:

https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/23 ... n-windows/

Some have even put up YouTube videos with step-by-step basic instructions/recommendations.

annisman
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:03 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by annisman » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:45 am

shannow wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:00 am
annisman wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:34 am
Win 7 can pass HDR content using MADVR and MPC-BE, working for me on LG B6.
I just got this to work on my B7 but every now and then there is micro stuttering. Is there an option in the tv that can help smooth it out while HDR is on?
I have a GTX980 and i7-4790k, i have a dual monitor setup
Make sure you configure MadVR to switch to appropriate resolution/hz automatically. Such as 2160p23 for 23.97 fps movies. I'm no expert but google will show you how. Also Nvidia drivers 385.28 are commonly considered the best right now for htpc use. Good luck.

shannow
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 7:49 am

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by shannow » Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:40 am

Thanks for the reply guys. So after a little research, Ive found in madVR/devices/LG TV in the custom modes tab, it has an active 3840x2160@60hz,with another 7 settings that are not active. Should i activate the other settings in the custom mode.

shannow
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 7:49 am

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by shannow » Sat Aug 25, 2018 5:35 am

I added 2160p23 in the "List all display modes madVR may switch to" Fixed the micro stuttering.

annisman
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:03 pm

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by annisman » Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:41 pm

shannow wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 5:35 am
I added 2160p23 in the "List all display modes madVR may switch to" Fixed the micro stuttering.
Yes, this is because you were asking it to play 23fps movies at 60fps before you made the change. Dont be afraid to enable other options such as 2160p24 or 2160p60 etc...MadVR is smart and will know what the source fps of the file is and then switch your display to match. Look to see what your display can do at 2160 and enable all the options that correspond that way you wont run into more stutter if you try to play something other than 24fps.

shannow
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 7:49 am

Re: hdr and windows 7

Post by shannow » Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:19 am

Annisman,

I cant seem to get netflix to output HDR, is it possible to do on my PC with dual monitors on win7?

Post Reply