Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
spl147
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:59 pm

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Post by spl147 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:10 pm

SamuriHL wrote:If it were a receiver issue the original disc wouldn't play correctly. In any case I am glad you have no issues playing it. I'm not going to spend more time attempting to "convince you" that some of us are seeing issues with these titles.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
I didnt ask you to, i was simply stating i do not, and that it might be a player issue.


Sent from my iPhone Xs Max using Tapatalk Pro

Metallikahn
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:22 pm

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Post by Metallikahn » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:22 pm

It could be a player issue (though if it is it's hard to say when, if ever, a fix is found and implemented) or it could be a makemkv issue causing it. I'm leaning towards Makemkv just based on the fact that playing direct from the disc works perfectly. When Makemkv extracts the movie to the mkv container it should be just like it was on the disc. The fact that these errors occur means something is different. The fact that YOU haven't experienced them, means that it could be problems with makemkv and certain players, requiring a fix on one, or the other, or both.

Extracting the Truehd track without the atmos meta data means we can potentially play the movie with no dropouts (no atmos either, but at least retain the lossless audio for the most part). Whether the receiver is decoding the atmos or not is irrelevant. I've had the same problem on 3 different AVR/processors, 2 of which were atmos capable and 1 of which was THD only.


Just got to thinking... What would happen if you used the THD track from the bluray and remuxed it into the UHD mkv? I know there not guaranteed to be exactly the same and there may be a time alignment issue, but other than that, they're essentially the same. Just looked at the bluray disc for Incredibles 2 and it uses DTSMA. Still... Wonder what would happen if it was Muxed into the UHD track? I might give it a try just for the hell of it and see what happens. lol :mrgreen:

SamuriHL
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Post by SamuriHL » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:30 pm

There's (currently) no way to extract the ATMOS track as TrueHD without the ATMOS extensions directly. Like I said, I think the people that have tried it are using ffmpeg to strip the ATMOS extensions from the track. Some people were doing this before because they don't have ATMOS capable receivers and wanted to shrink the audio a little bit to save space. I've not personally tried this but some people say it works. I have an ATMOS capable receiver so I have no intention of stripping the ATMOS for my backups. When this was being tested for LAV filters it was reported that playing the disc back directly worked but as soon as it was ripped to an MKV container the issues cropped up. Nev found some TrueHD/ATMOS bitstreaming issues in his code and fixed them which definitely improved the situation. However, the SHIELD still gives me issues as does LAV no matter which software I use to rip it. The other software I use for ripping they confirmed they can repro the issue and are looking into it. If I rip with that, no dropouts but the audio gets out of sync over time. With my MakeMKV rips I get little "pops" where the audio momentarily drops out. Easy to miss unless it gets bad enough to drop the audio completely which happens from time to time. Playing the original disc on my UB820 works fine. Playing he original disc with MC and LAV filters works fine. It's only when I rip to MKV that I run into issues. Meh, I'm not going to worry about it as I know it's being worked on for at least one of the solutions I use for ripping.

LurkerSteve
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:08 am

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Post by LurkerSteve » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:41 pm

SamuriHL wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:30 pm
There's (currently) no way to extract the ATMOS track as TrueHD without the ATMOS extensions directly. Like I said, I think the people that have tried it are using ffmpeg to strip the ATMOS extensions from the track. Some people were doing this before because they don't have ATMOS capable receivers and wanted to shrink the audio a little bit to save space. I've not personally tried this but some people say it works. I have an ATMOS capable receiver so I have no intention of stripping the ATMOS for my backups. When this was being tested for LAV filters it was reported that playing the disc back directly worked but as soon as it was ripped to an MKV container the issues cropped up. Nev found some TrueHD/ATMOS bitstreaming issues in his code and fixed them which definitely improved the situation. However, the SHIELD still gives me issues as does LAV no matter which software I use to rip it. The other software I use for ripping they confirmed they can repro the issue and are looking into it. If I rip with that, no dropouts but the audio gets out of sync over time. With my MakeMKV rips I get little "pops" where the audio momentarily drops out. Easy to miss unless it gets bad enough to drop the audio completely which happens from time to time. Playing the original disc on my UB820 works fine. Playing he original disc with MC and LAV filters works fine. It's only when I rip to MKV that I run into issues. Meh, I'm not going to worry about it as I know it's being worked on for at least one of the solutions I use for ripping.
Good evening,

So is the problem actually with MakeMKV or is the problem on the player side? I experience the same issues when attempting to playback ATMOS audio on my receiver. Random pops and sometimes, rarely, audio drops out completely. I too am using the NVIDIA Shield which at the time of purchase was the only third-party solution that played back MKV's that supported 7.1 via Plex. I initially thought it was a 7.1 issue but it's only with ATMOS tracks the issue crops up. I do not have an X1S/X1X/UHD Player so I am unable to play back my original disc but I suspect the issue wouldn't exist.

SamuriHL
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Post by SamuriHL » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:52 pm

LurkerSteve wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:41 pm
Good evening,

So is the problem actually with MakeMKV or is the problem on the player side? I experience the same issues when attempting to playback ATMOS audio on my receiver. Random pops and sometimes, rarely, audio drops out completely. I too am using the NVIDIA Shield which at the time of purchase was the only third-party solution that played back MKV's that supported 7.1 via Plex. I initially thought it was a 7.1 issue but it's only with ATMOS tracks the issue crops up. I do not have an X1S/X1X/UHD Player so I am unable to play back my original disc but I suspect the issue wouldn't exist.
I believe the issue lies with the MKV's that are output by the various tools. However, if you look back a few posts, at least one user has no problem with playing them in KODI on his SHIELD. I have problems playing the MKV no matter what I use for a player. The original plays fine on my HTPC using the same software that I use to play the MKV and also on my UB820 UHD player. In any case, I don't think we KNOW for sure one way or the other what the issue is, but, again, I believe it's a problem with ripping certain ATMOS (mostly Disney) titles to MKV.

ManMower
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:09 pm

Re: Ripping Dolby Atmos into MKV

Post by ManMower » Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:32 pm

I also have dropouts in Incredibles 2. There's a dropout in Ralph Breaks the Internet that confuses my player/receiver so badly that I have to stop and restart before audio comes back at all.

The Ralph Breaks the Internet dropout is interesting because it seems to happen exactly on the boundary between 00128.m2ts and 00131.m2ts, and there's also an audible snap when playing in media player classic on a PC without a receiver in the mix at all (software decode, no atmos support).

The theory that it's a problem with seamless branching seems solid, but I think Atmos might be a bit of a red herring.

Post Reply