Correct playlist for War of the Worlds 4k and bluray?

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
Post Reply
Unibrowser
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:02 pm

Correct playlist for War of the Worlds 4k and bluray?

Post by Unibrowser » Wed May 20, 2020 8:11 pm

4k Bluray shows
222.mpls
Segment count 1
Segment map 3
And
003.m2ts
Everything the same

1080p shows
020.mpls
Segment count 1
Segment map 55
And
001.mpls
Segment count 3
Segment map 74,55,73

Krawk
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:10 am

Re: Correct playlist for War of the Worlds 4k and bluray?

Post by Krawk » Wed May 20, 2020 9:37 pm

This is a Paramount film, didn't think they used anything special to hide it.

jayper
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Correct playlist for War of the Worlds 4k and bluray?

Post by jayper » Thu May 21, 2020 12:18 am

Unibrowser wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 8:11 pm
4k Bluray shows
222.mpls
Segment count 1
Segment map 3
And
003.m2ts
Everything the same

1080p shows
020.mpls
Segment count 1
Segment map 55
And
001.mpls
Segment count 3
Segment map 74,55,73
Only speaking to the UHD here: One is a playlist, and one is the m2ts file. They are different things but related. Playlists indicate which m2ts files should be played and in what order.

In this case, the playlist (222.mpls), includes the m2ts file (003). Look closely at the mpls file in the "Title Information" window. It lists 3 (003.m2ts) as the one and only item in the segment map. The way this disc was mastered was one long m2ts file for the entire movie. Which is why they look identical.

You want to rip the mpls as it includes the chapter markers, the m2ts file does not.

Hope that helps.

Unibrowser
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:02 pm

Re: Correct playlist for War of the Worlds 4k and bluray?

Post by Unibrowser » Thu May 21, 2020 12:20 am

Ok thanks!

omk1980
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:16 am

Re: Correct playlist for War of the Worlds 4k and bluray?

Post by omk1980 » Mon Jun 01, 2020 3:20 am

After i back up this disk, it's taking up the entirety of my 16:9 screen. It's weird bc most of my backups are letterbox/scope images.

Did i do something wrong?

Post Reply