Need help downgrading ASUS BW 16D1HT drive

Forum for discussions about UHD-capable dives
vdj89

Need help downgrading ASUS BW 16D1HT drive

Post by vdj89 »

I am new to the scene and have several BluRays that I'd like to stream via my home NAS. I recently purchased a 16D1HT drive with an USB adapter as I only have a MacBook Pro. The drive came with 3.03 pre-loaded and all the methods listed to downgrade the firmware require Windows/DOS and they don't seem to work with a USB3 enclosure. They seem to require an IDE connection. Is there a way I could possibly flash the drive with the older firmware with a USB connection? I have a laptop running Linux. Would that help? I can possibly insert the drive in my home NAS but it is running Linux. Would I be able to flash the drive with Linux? If so, could you guys please point me to the instructions?

TIA!
annisman

Re: Need help downgrading ASUS BW 16D1HT drive

Post by annisman »

There are some members here on the forum who have offered to flash FW (send your drive to them) and/or have UHD friendly drives they can sell, so if you can't flash your own maybe look into that.
Nuccidrummer

Post by Nuccidrummer »

vdj89 wrote:I am new to the scene and have several BluRays that I'd like to stream via my home NAS. I recently purchased a 16D1HT drive with an USB adapter as I only have a MacBook Pro. The drive came with 3.03 pre-loaded and all the methods listed to downgrade the firmware require Windows/DOS and they don't seem to work with a USB3 enclosure. They seem to require an IDE connection. Is there a way I could possibly flash the drive with the older firmware with a USB connection? I have a laptop running Linux. Would that help? I can possibly insert the drive in my home NAS but it is running Linux. Would I be able to flash the drive with Linux? If so, could you guys please point me to the instructions?

TIA!
Did you have any luck with this?
vdj89

Post by vdj89 »