Fastest USB DVD drive

Forum for discussions about UHD-capable dives
pneumatic

Fastest USB DVD drive

Post by pneumatic »

Hello, newbie here.

Could anyone recommend a fast USB drive for ripping DVDs with MakeMKV?

Preferably region free, but it seems MakeMKV and DVD Decrypter can bypass region restriction (is that normal? Is it reliable or should I expect to flash the firmware?).

I've been using a couple of cheap laptop grade USB drives from Dell and HP and they work ok but are quite slow at 4MB/sec, which is slower than internet and amounts to 30 minutes per 8.7GB disc. After buying a couple of series on DVD -- 60 discs total -- I've calculated this will take 32.5 hours @ 4MB/sec :roll:

Basically I want speed. Speed, speed, speed! What is a good speed for a DVD drive these days? What is a realistic expectation?

Thanks in advance and especially thank you to the author(s?) of MakeMKV!
dcoke22

Re: Fastest USB DVD drive

Post by dcoke22 »

MakeMKV can use more than one drive at the same time. Turn on 'Ask for single drive mode' in MakeMKV's preferences. That's the fastest way to rip to a bunch of discs.
pneumatic

Post by pneumatic »

dcoke22 wrote:
Mon Jul 31, 2023 12:00 pm
MakeMKV can use more than one drive at the same time. Turn on 'Ask for single drive mode' in MakeMKV's preferences. That's the fastest way to rip to a bunch of discs.
Ok thanks, I will try that.

After some searching I got the impression that USB drives won't be as fast due to power limits or whatever, so I'll try a full size internal SATA drive instead.

Ordered Asus DRW-24D5MT for very cheap, so nothing to lose :lol:

I saw there is also LG GH24NSD1:

and Lite-On iHAS124

I couldn't find any complaints about speed on the Asus so went for that one. Hopefully no "riplock" thingy.