checking for ff_ac3_encoder... no

The place to discuss linux version of MakeMKV
Post Reply
plittlefield
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 11:04 am

checking for ff_ac3_encoder... no

Post by plittlefield »

Hello,

I compile the latest ffmpeg as required...

Code: Select all

wget http://ffmpeg.org/releases/ffmpeg-4.1.3.tar.bz2
tar -xjvf ffmpeg-4.1.3.tar.bz2
cd ffmpeg-4.1.3/
make clean
./configure --prefix=/tmp/ffmpeg --enable-static --disable-shared --enable-pic --disable-x86asm --disable-all --disable-autodetect --disable-everything --enable-swresample --enable-avcodec --enable-encoder=flac,aac --enable-decoders
make
make install
...but when I come to configure makemkv-oss there are some 'no' answers...

Code: Select all

checking for ff_ac3_decoder... yes
checking for ff_eac3_decoder... yes
checking for ff_aac_latm_decoder... yes
checking for ff_aac_fixed_decoder... yes
checking for ff_dca_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mlp_decoder... yes
checking for ff_truehd_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mp1_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mp2_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mp3_decoder... yes
checking for ff_flac_decoder... yes
checking for ff_ac3_encoder... no
checking for ff_ac3_fixed_encoder... no
checking for ff_aac_encoder... yes
checking for ff_libfdk_aac_encoder... no
checking for ff_flac_encoder... yes
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating libffabi/src/ffabicfg.h
config.status: executing libtool commands
...it does finish and install and work fine.

...should I be worried and what do I do to fix that if the ff_ac3_fixed_encoder or ff_aac_encoder or ff_libfdk_aac_encoder are important?

Thanks,

Paully
xr200
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:11 am

Re: checking for ff_ac3_encoder... no

Post by xr200 »

https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=224

details how to build ffmpeg. You have a lot more configure options than
are used above, and you haven't set --prefix. I suggest you
try the options as described above and see if it changes what
you are currently seeing. Like you, I don't know if it matters or not....

Good Luck.
plittlefield
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 11:04 am

Re: checking for ff_ac3_encoder... no

Post by plittlefield »

I am still getting checking for ff_libfdk_aac_encoder... no line from my configure command...

Code: Select all

PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/tmp/ffmpeg/lib/pkgconfig ./configure --disable-gui
...snip...
checking for ff_ac3_decoder... yes
checking for ff_eac3_decoder... yes
checking for ff_aac_latm_decoder... yes
checking for ff_aac_fixed_decoder... yes
checking for ff_dca_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mlp_decoder... yes
checking for ff_truehd_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mp1_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mp2_decoder... yes
checking for ff_mp3_decoder... yes
checking for ff_flac_decoder... yes
checking for ff_ac3_encoder... yes
checking for ff_ac3_fixed_encoder... yes
checking for ff_aac_encoder... yes
checking for ff_libfdk_aac_encoder... no
checking for ff_flac_encoder... yes
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating libffabi/src/ffabicfg.h
config.status: executing libtool commands
...even though I have compiled and installed the libfdk_aac in the latest ffmpeg just before this.

Here is my ffmpeg configure command...

Code: Select all

./configure --prefix=/tmp/ffmpeg --enable-gpl --enable-nonfree --enable-static --disable-shared --enable-pic --disable-x86asm --disable-all --disable-autodetect --disable-everything --enable-swresample --enable-avcodec --enable-encoder=flac,aac,ac3,ac3_fixed --enable-libfdk-aac --enable-decoders
...which has the appropriate '--enable-libfdk-aac' option and compiled and installed with no errors.

Any ideas?
Post Reply