Subtitles on Marvels The Avengers

The place to discuss Mac OS X version of MakeMKV
bpwhistler

Subtitles on Marvels The Avengers

Post by bpwhistler »

Ripping BD 'The Avengers.' My rip turns out fine with regards to AV, but I can't seem to get the right settings for subtitles. In an early part of the film their is some Russian language. I'm trying to get the English forced subtitles to show up. I'm a complete noob when it comes to this. I know very little, and rely on the software and the UI to make the 'magic' happen. My ignorance in this case is obviously affecting my outcomes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Woodstock

Re: Subtitles on Marvels The Avengers

Post by Woodstock »

How many subtitle tracks are shown for each language?

If it is TWO, then one is the "forced" subtitles, the other is a complete set. There probably are NO subtitles tagged as "forced".

In my collection, there is only one BD, Avatar, that actually implements forced subtitles within a larger subtitle track. Everything else has one track for forced, one track for everything.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
bpwhistler

Post by bpwhistler »

Thanks Woodstock...

There are three english subtitle tracks with each having a 'child' forced subtitle track. My last rip I selected all of them.

Cheers.

Brett
Woodstock

Post by Woodstock »

That's actually pretty common. Sometimes, the "extra" track(s) is for a secondary audio stream with commentary, or it simply IS the commentary.
bpwhistler

Post by bpwhistler »

Glad to know it's common for future rips. I still don't understand why my forced subtitles aren't showing even after I select all of the subtitle (and children) tracks.

Cheers.
necrosis

Post by necrosis »

Woodstock wrote:How many subtitle tracks are shown for each language?