V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Post Reply
kenkong586
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:04 pm

V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by kenkong586 » Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:10 pm

I'm experiencing as issue where I select only the core DTS 5.1 track and I end up with the DTS-HD track and the core DTS still embedded. I've never had this issue in the past. Any advice is appreciated.

EDIT: I should note that this only happens when extracting from an MVK file. If I extract directly from a BD source or an ISO, the file is output with the correct DTS core audio.
Last edited by kenkong586 on Thu Aug 20, 2020 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PhilaPhan80
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:31 pm

Re: Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by PhilaPhan80 » Wed Aug 12, 2020 4:44 pm

Hi, I'm experiencing the same issue within 1.15.2. I can confirm this was working well in 1.15.1, so I do believe it's a regression.

Track Selection.png
Track Selection.png (6.33 KiB) Viewed 10311 times

Source file:

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : DTS ES XLL
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Commercial name : DTS-HD Master Audio
Codec ID : A_DTS

Duration : 1 h 55 min
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 3 834 kb/s
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel(s)_Original : 7 channels
Channel layout : C L R Ls Rs LFE Cb
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 93.750 FPS (512 SPF)
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossless
Stream size : 3.09 GiB (21%)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Destination file (extracted track):

Audio
ID : 2
Format : DTS ES XLL
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Commercial name : DTS-HD Master Audio
Codec ID : A_DTS

Duration : 1 h 55 min
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 3 834 kb/s
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel(s)_Original : 7 channels
Channel layout : C L R Ls Rs LFE Cb
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 93.750 FPS (512 SPF)
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossless
Stream size : 3.09 GiB (21%)
Title : Surround 5.1
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

dcoke22
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by dcoke22 » Wed Aug 12, 2020 9:24 pm

I'm running MakeMKV 1.15.2 on macOS 10.14.6. I happened to have lying around a decrypted backup of a Blu-ray with DTS-HD 7.1 audio and a DTS 5.1 core. I tried making a MKV with only the DTS 5.1 track selected and the output contained only the one audio track, a 5.1 DTS track. I confirmed this by playing it in MPV and looking at the mediainfo output.

I also tried with a TrueHD 7.1 with a DD 5.1 core and again I ended up with only the 5.1 DD audio.

Finally, I looked for a backup with only DTS-HD 5.1 audio with a DTS 5.1 core. Again I selected only the DTS track and again the resulting MKV only had the single audio track, DTS 5.1.

In short, I don't see the problem you describe. Perhaps there's different behavior on different OSes?

PhilaPhan80
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:31 pm

Re: Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by PhilaPhan80 » Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:17 pm

That's possible. I'm running 1.15.2 on Windows 10 (version 1909).

Source file has a DTS-HD MA audio track, and I'm selecting the child node to extract the DTS core as I've been able to do in prior versions. The only wildcard here is the new version which, according to the changelog, includes a "massive internal rewrite". So it makes sense that something may be out of whack.

KevinSartori
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:35 pm

Re: Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by KevinSartori » Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:47 pm

Hi all,

I registered on the board to say that I've noticed this issue as well. When I looked back at file creation dates to see if I could figure out when this started, the earliest file is from July 21, which coincides with the latest version. Since then, every MKV file with DTS-HD audio that I've run through MakeMKV with only DTS Core selected has been written with full DTS-HD audio. Prior to this latest version, I have dozens of files I created with MakeMKV that didn't have this problem. But starting with 1.15.2, I haven't been able to successfully create a DTS Core MKV yet.

Running Windows 10 64-bit (version 2004).

Thanks!

StarForce
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:59 pm

Re: Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by StarForce » Fri Sep 04, 2020 8:07 pm

Sorry, I prefer not to open a new thread. I use MakeMKV a lot over a MKV to change audio but right now with the new version when a choose to create a new MKV file and a DTS Audio from a DTS-HD audio, in the copy, MakeMKV let the DTS-HD audio as it was and do nothing. Weird!

kenkong586
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 5:04 pm

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by kenkong586 » Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:01 pm

This issue still exists in v 1.15.3

enduro69247
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 1:35 pm

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by enduro69247 » Mon Oct 05, 2020 1:42 pm

Hello!

I confirm the issue, described by StarForce. Unchecking DTS-HD and just keeping DTS-Surround has not produced the desired result since the last two versions of the program. Using older versions is not possible.

PhilaPhan80
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:31 pm

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by PhilaPhan80 » Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:29 pm

Confirming this issue still exists within 1.15.3. Windows 10 64-bit (Version 1909)

Happy to beta test any potential fixes if it helps!

samtroy
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 9:43 am

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by samtroy » Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:23 pm

I also opened a posting about this annoying bug here (didn't notice this one, sorry):

https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=23302

I soo happy that I'm not the only one with this problem..
I'm on win10 2004 btw..

samtroy
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 9:43 am

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by samtroy » Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:46 pm

Anyone found a workaround yet?

mike admin
Posts: 3895
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:26 am
Contact:

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by mike admin » Mon Dec 07, 2020 8:48 pm

This will be fixed in 1.15.4, should be released very soon.

PhilaPhan80
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:31 pm

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by PhilaPhan80 » Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:41 pm

Confirming this works properly again in 1.15.4 on Windows. Thank you!

carlalex
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:02 pm

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by carlalex » Sat Dec 19, 2020 4:14 am

As I now audit my collection for MKV files with DTS-HD tracks, what is the definitive range of versions I should be looking for for re-rips?

KevinSartori
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:35 pm

Re: V1.15.2 Selecting only DTS Core results in DTS-HD

Post by KevinSartori » Wed Jan 13, 2021 12:33 am

carlalex wrote:
Sat Dec 19, 2020 4:14 am
As I now audit my collection for MKV files with DTS-HD tracks, what is the definitive range of versions I should be looking for for re-rips?
I believe this was only an issue with versions 1.15.2 and 1.15.3.

Post Reply