Full Backup Playback with Oppo 203

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
speeddemon

Full Backup Playback with Oppo 203

Post by speeddemon »

I'm new to MakeMKV and successfully ripped my first few UHD Blu-rays from my collection to MKV files now stored on my NAS.

The fourth movie I went to go rip was Apocalypse Now which is Dolby Vision. I didn't know about Dolby Vision being incompatible with MKV up to this point, but researched and now understand this limitation.

I have read though that you can backup the entire decrypted disc and then play that back over the network with an Oppo 203 (which I own already and have been using successfully with MKV files). I'm running into an issue while trying to do this though...

I browse to my Server's SMB connection, go into Videos, browse to the Apocalypse Now backup folder, then click on the folder, and nothing happens... it just goes into the folder and I'm not sure what I should click on next. I just see three folders, BDMV, CERTIFICATE, and MAKEMKV. Nothing happens as well if I click on any of those three folders.

What should I do next? Am I missing something basic?

Odd fact, I download an iPhone app called "Oppo Media Control" and I was actually able to use it remotely to virtually navigate the Oppo's network browser and start playing the folder. I can't understand though why tapping on the folder from a remote app's file browser would start playing the Blu-ray in its entirety when the native interface doesn't appear to work.

Thank you!
speeddemon

Re: Full Backup Playback with Oppo 203

Post by speeddemon »

I found the answer myself...

I had to go into the backup folder and copy all three folders (BDMV, CERTIFICATE, and MAKEMKV) into a folder named "AVCHD".

This is documented on the unofficial Oppo 203 FAQ:
AVCHD
This is a supported format for use in high definition video cameras. See: AVCHD. The file formats and directory layout are very similar to Blu-ray video.