FLAC profile transcodes all audio?

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Post Reply
Ferrett1983
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:29 am

FLAC profile transcodes all audio?

Post by Ferrett1983 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:56 am

Hi,

Basically when I choose the flac profile for LPCM audio it highlights all audio tracks instead of the one I want. Would it be possible to choose what audio track I'd want in flac instead of all audio tracks

Woodstock
Posts: 7932
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: FLAC profile transcodes all audio?

Post by Woodstock » Wed Nov 18, 2020 2:14 pm

If you are playing back via Plex, you should not have to convert to FLAC; Plex will do that as needed, if your device profiles are set correctly.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging

Ferrett1983
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:29 am

Re: FLAC profile transcodes all audio?

Post by Ferrett1983 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 3:40 pm

OK thankyou for the reply but if for any reason I wanted to convert the main audio to FLAC and leave the other audio as normal would their be a way to just do the main and leave the secondary audio?

Woodstock
Posts: 7932
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: FLAC profile transcodes all audio?

Post by Woodstock » Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:15 pm

With the FLAC profile, your only choice for an LPCM source seems to be FLAC.

Chose the AAC-stereo profile, though, and the AAC conversion is selected, but the original LPCM track is available for selection (in expert mode). So it is probably possible to add a rule to the FLAC profile to allow copying the LPCM track.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging

Post Reply