Multiple Audio Streams

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
jjnsgy

Multiple Audio Streams

Post by jjnsgy »

I'm an MKV newbie and have a question about the DVD version for MAC and subsequent playback.

I am ripping a bunch of DVDs mostly to save in the unfortunate event my kids scratch the discs. The secondary reason is to have a copy to stream for display by a projector in a media room streamed from a Readynas Pro. I will also compress the .mkv to a size more suitable to load onto my idevice for the kids to watch while on a plane using Handbrake.

I have had no problems ripping the dvds; however, when I select the correct title, there are typically multiple audio streams for that title. Typically (for most Pixar movies) there is a 5.1 and a 2 channel. I have been making an .mkv file of the title that contains the entire movie (as learned from playing in VLC) and also packaging with both audio streams with the thought being that the 2 channel will be used for the idevice after manipulating with Handbrake and the 5.1 to be played in the media room. Am I correct in assuming that the media extender (still need to get one that reads mkv) will know to select the 5.1 channel audio track to send to my receiver (Marantz av7005)?

Thanks for any help!
Woodstock

Re: Multiple Audio Streams

Post by Woodstock »

Generally speaking, if a player will handle MKV, it will also read any of the audio tracks in it that it has a CODEC for. So it is faster to let MakeMKV select all the audio tracks and put them into the MKV, although you can toss out any foreign languages you're not interested in.

When you're recoding with Handbrake, you can rearrange the order of the audio tracks to make your desired one the first found, or even the ONLY track. This reduces the chance the playback device would chose the "wrong" track.
Last edited by Woodstock on Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions