Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Post Reply
Bob K
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:54 am

Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

Post by Bob K » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:30 am

MakeMKV rips some of my bluray disks with Reference Frames=2, such as Source Code, Jumper, and Salt. Others, like Snow White and the Huntsman and Toy Story 3 rip with Reference Frames=4.

My LG BD670 player will not cleanly play the files where Reference Frames=2. I get colored blocking and glitches throughout the film. I need Ref Frames of at least 3 in order for the video to play properly. I see the work TexasGrillChef has done in discovering this issue with LG players (http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic ... 93&start=0); however, I don't yet see a native solution.

I re-encode with Handbrake as a workaround but would prefer to stick with MakeMKV.

Why does MakeMKV rip movies with different Reference Frame settings? And, is there a way for me to force MakeMKV to use a particular Reference Frame setting?

Chetwood
Posts: 812
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:16 am

Re: Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

Post by Chetwood » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:43 am

It doesn't.
MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller Uebersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch

Romansh
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:09 pm

Re: Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

Post by Romansh » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:53 am

Bob K wrote:Why does MakeMKV rip movies with different Reference Frame settings?
Because the studio encoded the Blu-ray with 2 refs, that's all.

The easy workaround is to get a non-useless playback device, rather than sticking with the LG.

Bob K
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:54 am

Re: Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

Post by Bob K » Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:35 pm

Great! Thanks for the feedback.

setarip_old
Posts: 2136
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

Post by setarip_old » Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:48 pm

Hi!

There have been many posts, at this forum and others, indicating that the LG playback devices are, in general, problematic.

I concur with the suggestion made by Romansh:
The easy workaround is to get a non-useless playback device, rather than sticking with the LG.



Chetwood
Posts: 812
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:16 am

Re: Can I Change the Number of Reference Frames?

Post by Chetwood » Sat Nov 10, 2012 7:02 am

Non-useless, LOL.
MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller Uebersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch

Post Reply