Hacksaw Ridge

Please post here for issues related to Blu-ray discs
bretb
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:08 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by bretb » Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:36 pm

Woodstock wrote:It is not always correct, though.

What is the algorithm that MakeMKV uses with Java to determine the correct playlist?

I'm ripping Nerve right now, and MakeMKV actually did select the "correct" playlist (though I knew in advance the correct .mpls).

However, I'm curious, if MakeMKV selects the wrong playlist, how do you determine that the wrong playlist was selected, without ripping the entire wrong selection, then realizing it when you watch the feature?

Woodstock
Posts: 7469
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by Woodstock » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:00 am

I can't say what the algorithm is, because I don't know. I do know that Mike solicited information from everyone on the forum for a variety of disks that had obfuscation, especially when the tracks were different for different sources.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

KrisKringle
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:49 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by KrisKringle » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:59 pm

377, 411, and 760 are not producing the sound correctly...cuts in and out on Retail Blu version 8(

hvnphoto
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:38 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by hvnphoto » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:01 pm

KrisKringle wrote:377, 411, and 760 are not producing the sound correctly...cuts in and out on Retail Blu version 8(
Probably due to your player not supporting Dolby TrueHD 7.1 Atmos. You will need to play the DD Surround 5.1.

KrisKringle
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:49 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by KrisKringle » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:52 pm

I was able to play the 5.1 correctly, but I don't understand. I have had no problem utilizing 7.1 until now. This is the first BD I have purchased with 7.1 Atmos support, is it not backwards compatible to the previous 7.1 non-Atmos configurations?

hvnphoto
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:38 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by hvnphoto » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:54 pm

KrisKringle wrote:I was able to play the 5.1 correctly, but I don't understand. I have had no problem utilizing 7.1 until now. This is the first BD I have purchased with 7.1 Atmos support, is it not backwards compatible to the previous 7.1 non-Atmos configurations?
VLC does not support 7.1 Atmos. There is no current solution to this issue. Non Atmos 7.1 is supported.

salfter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 12:49 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by salfter » Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:00 am

Woodstock wrote:You must have the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) from java.com installed. This is NOT required to run MakeMKV itself, just to enable it to look for the correct title on these obfuscated disks. It is not always correct, though.
Is this capability supported on Linux? I have the latest 64-bit Oracle JDK installed, and to help out MakeMKV, I went into preferences and set the Java path to /usr/bin/java, but when I put this disc in, I still just get a ton of titles that look like the feature with no clue as to which is correct.

Woodstock
Posts: 7469
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by Woodstock » Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:09 pm

It's supposed to be for all platforms. Did you put the path in to the executable, or to the directory the executable is in?

(We haven't installed Java on any of our Linux servers or workstations for over a decade, so I have no clue whether your path is correct)
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

KrisKringle
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:49 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by KrisKringle » Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:52 pm

Sorry for the slow update. You guys were spot on! It did have to do with the sound capabilities of my VLC test display tool. Once I woke up and played it directly in Appletv with Infuse Pro. It played in 7.1, and ignored the Atmos info. I'll upgrade the theatre to Atmos after we move out of the 3 story into a ranch. Thanks for the help.

andrew_clark
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:04 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by andrew_clark » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:21 am

boonetyler wrote:
Papa007 wrote:Ok, so I'm ripping 760 per the above advice. Now I'd really love to know about this JS plugin that someone mentioned. I'm not seeing the "Comment" field in my list of possible playlists....
I had the same issue. However, I also hadn't installed Java JRE on my HTPC. After installing JRE, I rescanned Hacksaw, and got (FPL_MainFeature) listed at the end of 760, and 760 title was pulled to the top.

If you don't have Java installed, try installing the basic runtime and rescan. I'm curious to see if it can be confirmed

cldgin2
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:25 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by cldgin2 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:18 am

Thanks for the help guys! The java trick is great, and as always I appreciate the efforts of this community.

cidav8r1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by cidav8r1 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:13 pm

My version of MakeMKV doesn't show any of the "info" items that yours does. What version are you using? Is this a purchased version?

Woodstock
Posts: 7469
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by Woodstock » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:31 pm

The version you download is the same version the rest of us use. If you don't have "Expert mode" turned on, you will have less information and the controls are simplified. If you do not have debug logging turned on, what is shown in the status window is reduced. These settings are found in Preferences->General.

Buying a key means you don't have to worry about entering a new key every 2 months or so.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

yorgo
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:28 pm
Location: Left of Center

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by yorgo » Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:39 am

Woodstock wrote:Buying a key means you don't have to worry about entering a new key every 2 months or so.
And hopefully keeps the project funded so we can ALL enjoy this valuable tool for years to come. :D

midnighwatcher
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:57 am

Re: Hacksaw Ridge

Post by midnighwatcher » Sat May 13, 2017 4:29 am

I just purchased a copy from Amazon (Canada). All of the segment maps begin with 513. Anybody know the correct one for the Canadian Blu-ray? Cover is not bilingual.

Post Reply