Vortexbox Rip Stuck in ripper.tmp

The place to discuss linux version of MakeMKV
Post Reply
Tularis
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:39 pm

Vortexbox Rip Stuck in ripper.tmp

Post by Tularis » Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:44 pm

Hey Guys,

I know this is the MakeMKV forum but as VortexBox uses MakeMKV for Linux and their forums are down and the moment I don't have anywhere else to go, but I thought you might be able to help as there is a bit of a cross over.

So I have a Fresh install of VortexBox 2.4 I've done a "dnf -y update" but every DVD I rip ends up stuck in /storage/tmp/ripper.tmp/title00.mkv

Has anyone seen this before? Does anyone know what might be wrong?

Again sorry if this is the wrong place to ask but I'm out of options.

Woodstock
Posts: 6588
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Vortexbox Rip Stuck in ripper.tmp

Post by Woodstock » Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:22 pm

Based solely on the description of what Vortexbox is doing, my guess is that is the directory it uses for the rip, and the files are encoded and transferred to the final destination from there.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

Tularis
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:39 pm

Re: Vortexbox Rip Stuck in ripper.tmp

Post by Tularis » Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:45 pm

Yes, It should normally Rip the MKV into > /storage/tmp/ripper.tmp/title00.mkv then move and rename it into /storage/movies/%DVD_NAME%
This process should happen automatically and I can't seem to identify the script or process responsible for this.

As it doesn't move the MKV the next DVD you rip will overwrite the title00.mkv.

:(

Tularis
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:39 pm

Re: Vortexbox Rip Stuck in ripper.tmp

Post by Tularis » Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:42 pm

OK, So after some digging I found that when VortexBox reads the DVD it contacts this website..
api.vortexbox.org
which runs some DVD analysis to get the Title etc..

[Wireshark shows something like http://api.vortexbox.org/dvdinfo.php?dv ... e9daaca267]
[However the dvdinfo.php script is 404'ed]

When the internet is blocked the system will rip the MKV perfectly, So I can only deduce that there is a fault with this api from vortexbox.

With internet it will show this in the log:
Ripping to /storage/movies...
(Notice the blank title)

without the internet it will show
Ripping Shrek the Third (2007) to /storage/movies...
(Title Direct from DVD Disc Title)

I have reinstalled the Vortexbox OS 3 times and onto other computers.
The easiest fix I have found is to block "66.241.100.214" in the firewall so that the process continues as normal.

I'm just putting this here in case someone else has this problem and as the Vortexbox Forums are still offline

Woodstock
Posts: 6588
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Vortexbox Rip Stuck in ripper.tmp

Post by Woodstock » Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:18 pm

If it is trying to call home and "home" is broken, that might cause the behavior you're experiencing. Most likely, it's looking for the "best" information on how to convert the file.
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: https://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/8

Post Reply